NLE Choppa Drops “From Dark To Light” Mixtape For 18th Birthday

NLE Choppa - From Dark To Light

Over the weekend, Memphis rapper NLE Choppa delivered a new mixtape to celebrate his 18th birthday, titled From Dark To Light.

The project features 13 new tracks with features from Big Sean on “Moonlight” and INK on “Hear Me”. On the tape, Choppa grapples with dark thoughts and emotions, embarking on a spiritual journey that leads to hope and light. By the end, he emerges as a more confident vocalist, songwriter, and stylist than ever before. Cuts like “Paradise” and “Done” showcase his newfound focus on self-improvement and joy along with a melody-heavy delivery and intricate, thoughtful bars. Other standouts include “Moonlight” featuring Big Sean, the highly-anticipated “Body Catchers,” and “Picture Me Grapin’,” which is a remake of hip-hop legend 2Pac’s “Picture Me Rollin’.”

Additionally, Choppa dropped a coming of age video for the set’s first single, “Bryson,” a bass-heavy banger that finds him mulling the trials and tribulations that fuel the project.

Choppa’s first album, Top Shotta, debuted in the Billboard Top 10 in August, and he recently dropped his acclaimed, Lil Baby-assisted video for “Narrow Road.” He also spent a record 24 weeks atop Billboard’s Emerging Artist chart while racking up over 3 billion global streams. During his meteoric rise, Choppa’s attained six RIAA-certified plaques, a spot on the 2020 XXL Freshman list, and a nomination for the 2020 BET Hip-Hop Awards’ “Best New Artist.” Already on top of the world, NLE Choppa is aiming higher still with From Dark to Light.

Listen to From Dark To Light at all streaming platforms.


  1. Intro
  2. Bryson
  3. Moonlight feat Big Sean
  4. Picture Me Grapin’
  5. Taliban
  6. Twin Flame
  7. Body Catchers
  8. Hear Me feat. INK
  9. Man Down
  10. Love Tonight
  11. 100 Grapes
  12. Done
  13. Paradise