Minnesota Lynx Defeat Sparks to Win 2017 WNBA Champion

Minnesota Lynx Defeat Sparks to Win 2017 WNBA Champion
via Instagram / WNBA

The 2017 WNBA Finals are over, and it was the Minnesota Lynx who dethroned the Los Angeles Sparks for the team’s fourth championship in seven years.

The Lynx became the champs on Wednesday night (Oct. 4), with a Game 5 85-76 victory, led by Sylvia Fowles, who finished the game with 17 points and broke her own WNBA Finals record by grabbing 20 rebounds.

“I think every time you do this, it gets a little more special because it gets a little harder,” said Lynx star Lindsay Whalen. “And more meaningful because you know it’s not easy. It’s not something we try to take for granted ever.”

It was a team effort though. Maya Moore poured in 18 points and 10 rebounds and hit a huge runner with 26 seconds to play, Whalen had 17 points and eight assists and Seimone Augustus added 14 points, six assists and six rebounds.

With the win, Lynx are tied with the Houston Comets for most titles in league history.

Check out the highlights below: