NBA MVP Finalists Announced: Harden, Westbrook & Kawhi Leonard

Russell Westbrook
Credit: Erik Drost / CC-BY-2.5

The NBA announced this past week the finalists for the league’s six major year-end awards for the 2016-17 regular season.

The awards include: the MVP, Rookie of the Year, Sixth Man Award, NBA Defensive Player of the Year, Most Improved Player and NBA Coach of the Year. Each are based onĀ on voting results from a worldwide panel of sportswriters and broadcasters. See them below:

NBA Most Valuable Player
— James Harden, Houston Rockets
— Kawhi Leonard, San Antonio Spurs
— Russell Westbrook, OKC Thunder

NBA Rookie of the Year
— Malcolm Brogdon, Milwaukee Bucks
— Joel Embiid, Philadelphia 76ers
— Dario Saric, Philadelphia 76ers

NBA Sixth Man Award
— Eric Gordon, Houston Rockets
— Andre Iguodala, Golden State Warriors
— Lou Williams, Houston Rockets

NBA Defensive Player of the Year
— Rudy Gobert, Utah Jazz
— Draymond Green, Golden State Warriors
— Kawhi Leonard, San Antonio Spurs

NBA Most Improved Player
— Giannis Antetokounmpo, Milwaukee Bucks
— Rudy Gobert, Utah Jazz
— Nikola Jokic, Denver Nuggets

NBA Coach of the Year
— Mike D’Antoni, Houston Rockets
— Gregg Poppvich, San Antonio Spurs
— Erik Spoelstra, Miami Heat

The winners will be revealed during the inaugural NBA Awards on TNT, hosted by Drake on June 26 (9 p.m. ET), live from Basketball City in New York.