Uber Has Been Keeping Tabs On Its Users… After App Was Deleted!

By Staff  |  04/24/2017


Wow! This is disturbing. Word is, Uber has been keeping tabs on its users... even if they had deleted the app.

In a recent New York Times piece, profiling CEO Travis Kalanick, a stunning detail about the company is revealed: Uber was "identifying and tagging" iPhone users even after the app was deleted.

Read the startling account from the report below.

For months, Mr. Kalanick had pulled a fast one on Apple by directing his employees to help camouflage the ride-hailing app from Apple’s engineers. The reason? So Apple would not find out that Uber had been secretly identifying and tagging iPhones even after its app had been deleted and the devices erased — a fraud detection maneuver that violated Apple’s privacy guidelines.

But Apple was on to the deception, and when Mr. Kalanick arrived at the midafternoon meeting sporting his favorite pair of bright red sneakers and hot-pink socks, Mr. Cook was prepared. “So, I’ve heard you’ve been breaking some of our rules,” Mr. Cook said in his calm, Southern tone. Stop the trickery, Mr. Cook then demanded, or Uber’s app would be kicked out of Apple’s App Store.

Although you are giving up your privacy on a daily basis with the use of smartphones and other technology, Uber was going too far in violating the privacy of their users... both intentionally and deceptively.

This is just the latest in a number of controversy surrounding Uber, which has spawned a social media campaign with the hashtag #deleteUber.

Are you still using Uber? Or, another service? Tell us on social media.