Warriors’ Stephen Curry Wins MVP for Second Straight Season

Stephen Curry

Golden State Warriors star Stephen Curry has been named the 2016 NBA Most Valuable Player… for the second straight season.

Curry swept all 131 first-place votes, which was voted on by 130 sportswriters and broadcasters — making him the first unanimous NBA MVP ever.

The only other players to ever come close was Shaquille O’Neal and LeBron James, who were one vote shy of unanimous selections in 2000 and 2013, respectively.

Curry joins Tom Brady (2010 NFL MVP) and Wayne Gretzky (1982 Hart Trophy winner) as the only unanimous MVP’s in their respective leagues. However, there’s been 17 unanimous MVPs in MLB history, the latest being Bryce Harper as NL MVP last season.

This season, Curry led his Warriors to a record-setting start to the season, when they went 24-0… and eventually to a 73-9 mark that eclipsed the 1995-96 Chicago Bulls’ 72-10 record as the winningest single season in NBA history.

According to ESPN, Curry is also the first player in league history at any position to average 30 ‎points per game in less than 35 minutes per game over a full season. That’s not it, though. He also shattered his own single-season NBA record for made 3-pointers with 402 — his ‎previous record was 286 last season.

It’s safe to say that Curry currently owns the NBA!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.