J Dilla’s Lost Long Album, “The Diary”, Getting Release

J Dilla

The Estate of James Yancey, aka J Dilla, is prepping the release of the late producer’s long lost vocal album, The Diary.

Slated for release on April 15, via Mass Appeal Records, the album was intented for release in 2002, but never saw the light of day.

The Diary consists of final batch of unissued material that Dilla assembled for release whil still alive. Its final form was painstakingly assembled over a 10-year period from two-track mixdowns and multi-track masters found in Dilla’s archives after his death in 2006.

It features Dilla on the mic, as well as guest appearances from Snoop Dogg, Kokane, Bilal, Frank and Dank, and Nottz, among others. Producer credits go to Dilla, Malib, Pete Rock, Hi-Tek and House Shoes.

The album was announced this week in an interview with Nas on Zane Lowe’s show on Beats 1, where the never-before-heard song “The Introduction” was premiered. Listen to it below.

The Diary drops April 15.

The final tracklist is as follows:

1. The Introduction
2. The Anthem feat. Frank & Dank
3. Fight Club feat. Nottz & Boogie
4. The Shining Pt. 1 (Diamonds) feat. Kenny Wray
5. The Shining Pt. 2 (Ice)
6. Trucks
7. Gangsta Boogie feat. Snoop Dogg & Kokane
8. Drive Me Wild
9. Give Them What They Want
10. The Creep (The O)
11. The Ex feat. Bilal
12. So Far
13. Fuck The Police
14. The Diary

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.