Ken Griffey Jr., Trevor Hoffman On Ballot For 2016 Hall Of Fame

By Staff  |  11/09/2015

Ken Griffey Jr.

Ken Griffey Jr. and Trevor Hoffman are among 15 newcomers on this year's Hall of Fame ballot, alongside steroid-tainted legends Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens, Mark McGwire and Sammy Sosa.

According to ESPN, others on the ballot include first-timers David Eckstein, Troy Glaus, Mike Hampton, Mike Lowell and Billy Wagner.

To be inducted, a player needs to receive a vote of at least 75 percent from the Baseball Writers' Association of America. Results are to be announced Jan. 6.

Griffey was the 1997 AL MVP award, and is a 13-time All-Star and 10-time Gold Glove winner, who recorded 630 homers during his career, sixth on the all-time list. Hoffman is a seven-time All-Star who had 601 saves, second to Mariano Rivera's 652.

Griffey and Hoffman will be on the ballot against Mike Piazza (69.9 percent), who fell 28 votes short last year, Jeff Bagwell (55.7 percent), Tim Raines (55.0), Curt Schilling (39.2), Roger Clemens (37.5), Bonds 202 (36.8) and Lee Smith (30.2).

Alan Trammell (25.1) and McGwire (10.0) are in their final year of eligibility, while Sosa (6.6) is in danger of falling below the 5 percent threshold needed to stay on the ballot.