Santigold Announces New Album, “99¢”

By Staff  |  11/05/2015

Santigold - 99¢

Santigold announced her third album this week, titled 99¢, set to drop Jan. 22 via Atlantic Records.

On the new album, the Philly singer explores the commercial nature of the world and the ways in which we package ourselves and our lives for consumption.

"We have no illusion that we don't live in this world where everything is packaged," Santigold explains. "People's lives, persona, everything, is deliberate, and mediated. It can be dark and haunting and tricky, and freak us out, but it can be also be silly and fun and we can learn to play with it."

Her use of playful satire, social critique, and self-examination is reflected in the album's cover art, a collaboration with photographer Haruhiko Kawaguchi, which finds Santigold shrink-wrapped amongst her cluttered possessions ready for the store shelves.

On 99¢, Santigold collaborated with the likes of Patrik Berger, Rostam Batmanglij, Hit-Boy, Justin Raisen, ILOVEMAKONNEN, and Sam Dew, as well aslongtime cohorts John Hill, Dave Sitek, and Doc McKinney.

Below is the final tracklist:

1. "Can't Get Enough of Myself" (feat. B.C.)
2. "Big Boss Big Time Business"
3. "Banshee"
4. "Chasing Shadows"
5. "Walking in a Circle"
6. "Who Be Lovin Me" (feat. ILOVEMAKONNEN)
7. "Rendezvous Girl"
8. "Before the Fire"
9. "All I Got"
10. "Outside the War"
11. "Run the Races"
12. "Who I Thought You Were"