Dr. Dre Announces Final Album, “Compton”

Dr. Dre - Compton: A Soundtrack By Dr. Dre

It’s official. Dr. Dre confirms that he will release his first album in 14 years, inspired by the N.W.A. biopic, Straight Outta Compton.

Simply titled Compton: A Soundtrack By Dr. Dre, the producer revealed the news during his Beats 1 radio show, The Pharmacy, on Saturday (August 1).

“I decided during principal photography [for Straight Outta Compton] that I was leaving the set, coming to the studio, and I felt myself just so inspired by the movie that I started recording an album,” Dre said. “I started recording a soundtrack. I kept it under wraps, and now the album is finished.”

“It’s an inspired-by album, it’s inspired by Straight Outta Compton. I’m really proud of this, I’m excited about it,” he added.

Later, Dre revealed the fate of the long-awaited Detox, which was in the works for over a decade. “This is something you’re not gonna hear many artists say. The reason why Detox didn’t come out is because I didn’t like it,” he revealed. “It wasn’t good. The record, it just wasn’t good. I’ma keep it all the way 1000 with you. Seriously, I worked my ass off. I don’t think I did a good enough job, and I couldn’t do that to my fans, and I couldn’t do that to myself, to be perfectly honest with you. I just wasn’t feeling it.”

Compton drops August 7, exclusively on iTunes and Apple Music. “I’m ready this time, it’s really coming out,” said Dre of his first album since 1999’s The Chronic 2001. “I’m so excited about it. I think everybody’s gonna really get into these records, man.”

He also said it would be his final album. “This my time to get it right. All my friends came in. We all came together to build this thang. It’s gonna be my grand finale. The record is crazy.”

It will feature 16 tracks, with appearances from Eminem, Kendrick Lamar, Ice Cube, Snoop Dogg, The Game, Marsha Ambrosius, Jill Scott, and more.

Compton is available for pre-order now.

1. “Intro”
2. “Talk About It” (feat. King Mez & Justus)
3. “Genocide” (feat. Kendrick Lamar, Marsha Ambrosius & Candice Pillay)
4. “It’s All On Me” (feat. Justus & BJ the Chicago Kid)
5. “All In a Day’s Work” (feat. Anderson Paak & Marsha Ambrosius)
6. “Darkside/Gone” (feat. King Mez, Marsha Ambrosius & Kendrick Lamar)
7. “Loose Cannons” (feat. Xzibit & COLD 187um)
8. “Issues” (feat. Ice Cube & Anderson Paak)
9. “Deep Water” (feat. Kendrick Lamar & Justus)
10. “One Shot One Kill” – Jon Connor (feat. Snoop Dogg)
11. “Just Another Day” – The Game (feat. Asia Bryant)
12. “For the Love of Money” (feat. Jill Scott & Jon Connor)
13. “Satisfiction” (feat. Snoop Dogg, Marsha Ambrosius & King Mez)
14. “Animals” (feat. Anderson Paak)
15. “Medicine Man” (feat. Eminem, Candice Pillay & Anderson Paak)
16. “Talking to My Diary”

  1. Haters gonna hate… Appreciate talent where it’s due playa!!! Regardless to whether this IS detox,it don’t matter right. This fucking beat brawler is the best in the game and layed foundations for the west coast flavour which is now widely known as a universal base sound like Michael Jackson’s style of dancing, he invented the moonwalk,he invented and pioneered the UNIVERSAL choreography of today’s musician choreography, just like dre PIONEERS each and every sound until it matches that in his ear….what only he hears.

    If detox didn’t drop then it’s for a reason surely, he didn’t need the money… He had family shit going on…for whatever reason it don’t matter. Because u can’t rush perfection. If this album IS I fact a ghostly outline of detox, fuckit! Don’t matter, cos this shit ain’t heroic …. Heroes get remembered, it’s legendary, and legends never die. We witnessed this… We witnessed the era music,technology,business and art came together and revolutionised the future of entertainment. #DRDRE is a true pioneer in the revolution of the entertainment industry, recognise!

    What have you done hater!!! @chappedlippz?

  2. I am not hating, but I along with everyone else have been waiting on Detox. Then years later he announces this Compton album? I am not feeling the idea, but that’s me. What have I done? I purchased all of his damn music and been a loyal fan waiting for him to drop.

    On the other hand, you have a very extensive response. You are campaigning real hard for this man’s lack of dropping music. Are you his long lost son?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.