Cities With Longest Championship Droughts

LeBron James

Following the Golden State Warriors recent accomplishment of winning the franchise’s first title in 40 years, Yahoo Sports recently compiled a list of championship-straved cities waiting for their respective teams to hoist up the trophy.

Below is few of the city breakdowns that have gone the longest without a title across all pro-sports. See the rest at

San Diego (Chargers, Padres)
Drought: 52 years
San Diego has gone without a championship since the Chargers claimed the 1963 AFL crown. Tony Gwynn helped the Padres get to the World Series twice, while the Chargers have advanced to just one Super Bowl. (Sporting News via Getty Images)

Cleveland (Browns, Cavaliers, Indians)
Drought: 51 years
So if Jim Brown hadn’t abruptly retired so young, maybe the dry spell would ONLY be 47 or 48 years. As it is, perhaps no city has experienced more heartbreak than Cleveland, which hasn’t celebrated a title since the Browns won the NFL championship in 1964.

Buffalo (Bills, Sabres)
Drought: 50 years
The Bills went to four straight Super Bowls to start the 1990s and the Sabres have advanced to three Stanley Cup Finals but none of the seven trips resulted in victories. Buffalo’s last championship was by the Bills during the 1965 AFL season. (Manny Rubio-US PRESSWIRE)

Milwaukee (Brewers, Bucks)
Drought: 44 years
Folks outside of Wisconsin will say, “Hey, what about the Packers?” Geography lesson: Milwaukee and Green Bay, home of the Packers, are 116 miles apart. So when it comes to the home of “Laverne & Shirley,” the city has been championship-less since Kareem’s sky hook helped the Bucks win the NBA Finals in 1971. The city last competed for a championship when the Brewers reached the 1982 World Series.

Kansas City (Chiefs, Royals)
Drought: 30 years
The Royals almost ended the dry spell last year, coming up short at home in Game 7 of the World Series against the Giants. That was the first championship appearance for the city since the Royals captured the 1985 World Series. (Getty Images)

Cincinnati (Bengals, Reds)
Drought: 25 years
Eric Davis (center) and the Reds pulled off a stunner when they swept the A’s to win the 1990 World Series. Since then, there have been playoff appearances by both the Bengals and Reds, but neither has played for a championship.

Minnesota (Timberwolves, Twins, Vikings)
Drought: 24 years
For all of the excitement provided by Hall of Fame-bound players such as Kevin Garnett, Adrian Peterson, Randy Moss and Joe Mauer, there’s been little hope of a championship. The Vikings have advanced to two NFC title games and the T’wolves advanced to the 2004 Western Conference Finals, but there hasn’t been much to celebrate since the Twins won the 1991 World Series.

Washington D.C. (Capitals, Nationals, Redskins, Wizards)
Drought: 23 years
The Redskins had a nice run once upon a time ago, winning Super Bowls following the 1982, ’87 and ’91 seasons. Since then, only the Capitals (’98) have competed for the championship.

Houston (Astros, Rockets, Texans)
Drought: 20 years
“Clutch City” has been relatively silent for two decades. Since the Rockets’ back-to-back titles in the mid-1990s, the only championship appearance for Houston was in 2005 by the Astros, who have never won a World Series.

Atlanta (Braves, Falcons, Hawks)
Drought: 20 years
The Braves were a big tease in the 1990s — routinely winning the NL East and NL pennant but coming up short in the World Series save 1995. However, that’s a far better showing than their NBA and NFL counterparts, which have just one championship appearance between them (Falcons in Super Bowl XXXIII). (AP Photo/Andrew Innerarity)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.