Warriors Win NBA Title First Time In 40 Years, Iguodala Named MVP

By Staff  |  06/17/2015

Golden State Warriors

The Golden State Warriors made history on Tuesday night (June 16), when they brought the NBA Championship back to the Bay Area for the first time in 40 years.

Led by forward Andre Iguodala, who was named the Finals MVP, the team won 105-97 in Game 6.

It was the first time the MVP won without starting every game, as well as the first time the MVP was on the same team as the regular-season MVP (Stephen Curry) since Magic Johnson claimed the Finals honor in 1980 while playing on a Los Angeles Lakers squad with regular-season MVP Kareem Abdul-Jabbar.

"This has been a long ride," Iguodala said. "It's been a great season."

Check out how things played out in Game 6, in the NBA mini-movie below.