AT&T Invites 4 Fans To 2015 National Pebble Beach Pro-Am

National Pebble Beach Pro-Am

The annual Pebble Beach Pro-Am is one of golf’s most notable tournaments on the PGA Tour. Established way back in 1937, the tourney was called Bing Crosby National Pro-Am and carried that name up until 1985, when “Bing Crosby” was dropped and it was re-named the AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am.

To celebrate 30 years as the tournament’s title sponsor, AT&T is inviting four golf fans to cover it from the fan’s perspective. The Foursome is comprised of: Tim Lang, a military veteran; Katie Horsford, a First Tee Mentor; Dan McLaughlin of The Dan Plan; and Tiffany Fitzgerald of Black Girls Golf.

These four will be sharing a first-hand look of all the unique things that make the Pebble Beach tournament one of a kind, utilizing the AT&T Network and HTC devices to document their journey and share via their social properties.

To follow their journeys, make sure to follow the hashtag, #ATTProAm and via their Twitter handles: @TimLangGolf@BlackGirlsGolf@TheDanPlan and @KTHorsford.

The AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am kicks off Feb. 9 and will continue until Feb. 15, live from Pebble Beach, CA.

In honor of AT&T’s 30 year partnership and rich history around this tournament, here are a few of the greatest moments in the tour, dating back to 1987.

1987: Jack Lemmon, Clint Eastwood, Peter Jacobsen and Greg Norman (and his caddie Pete Bender) form the “human chain” along the cliffs of the 16th hole at Cypress Point club to help retrieve Lemmon’s errant shot into the ice plant.

1992: Bill Murray plays for the first time. The tournament would never be the same. Murray became the “face of the tournament” … the most popular celebrity to play, other than Bing Crosby …

— Bill Murray ends his third round on national television by “dancing” in the right bunker at the 18th hole at Pebble Beach with Kitty Ragsdale of Monterey – one of the most famous moments in tournament history.
— Donald Trump recorded an ace at No. 12 Spyglass Hill

1994: At age 46, Johnny Miller became the only player to win the tournament in three different decades (1974, 1987, 1994)

1996: The tournament was canceled due to rain, wind and two holes at Spyglass Hill (11 and 16) being partly under water.

1997: Mark O’Meara became the winningest professional in tournament history with his fifth victory in a span of 13 years.

1998: Weather washed out Saturday and Sunday, so the field returned on Aug. 17 to finish, the day after the PGA Championship in Seattle. They played all three courses to complete the rotation, with none of the players knowing who won until it was over … Phil Mickelson won.

1999: Call it “Divine Intervention,” or just “Crosby Weather,” but when rain washed out the final round of the tournament, the popular Payne Stewart, who held the 54-hole lead, was declared the winner. Runner-up in 1986 and 1987, and third in 1990, it would be his only win at Pebble Beach.

2000: Final round Tiger Woods holes out wedge shot on No. 15 for eagle, signature shot of Sunday charge to victory.

2001: Trailing by seven strokes through 54 holes, Davis Love III shoots 28 on the front nine at Pebble Beach to start his final round, closing with a record 63 to win.

2002: Pat Perez came to the 18th tee with a one-shot lead, then hit his tee shot into a hedge on the right – just a foot or so out of bounds. He hit his fourth shot into the ocean, made triple-bogey 8 and lost the tournament.

2003: Davis Love III led by only one stroke on Sunday when his tee shot at No. 12 at Pebble Beach sailed over the green – but deflected off the shoe of a photographer and bounced back within 12 feet of the flagstick. He made the birdie putt and went on to win for the second time in three years.

2006: Comedian George Lopez became the first player to “crowd surf” during the tournament, throwing himself into the gallery along the 15th tee at Pebble Beach on Saturday, also creating the first mosh pit in tournament history.

2005: Murray donated $14,000 to the Salinas Library System when he heard it was going to close.

2006: Arron Oberholser, a hometown favorite who blew the lead in 2004 with a final-round 76, this time held his own on Sunday — getting a good bounce off a tree at No. 15 — to win by five.

2011: The Cinderella Story comes true: Bill Murray wins the pro-am.

— Phil v Tiger — paired together, both in the hunt, for the final round. Phil shot 64 and won. Tiger shot 75 for T15.
— Ray Romano made the cut for the first time and finished fifth
— Foundation goes over $100 million mark in funds raised for local charity
— Daniel Chopra makes two holes in one Monday at Pebble (No. 7 and No. 17).

2013: Playing in the tournament for the first time, Ollie Nutt, who served as the CEO from 2000-2012, made a hole in one on the seventh hole at MPCC during the first round.

2014: Clint Eastwood saves Steve John’s life at the Volunteer Party

This post is brought to you by AT&T, celebrating 30 years of the #ATTPROAM

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.