DJ Quik - The Midnight Life

West Coast Hip-Hop legend DJ Quik announced this week that he’s prepping his ninth studio LP, entitled The Midnight Life, due in October.

Set for release through his own Mad Science label, the rapper/producer said the collection reflects his favorite music-making environment.

“This album is my ode to having fun in the midnight hour,” Quik says. “That’s the best time for making music in my opinion. It’s quiet, especially if you’re in a recording studio. You can hear everything and you know everybody’s asleep. You can sneak and do your best work.”

The LP’s lead single willbe “Life Jacket,” which features longtime collaborator Suga Free and rising star Dom Kennedy. Other standouts include “F*ck All Night”, in which he offers his sly sense of humor; and “Quik’s Groove 9” and “Bacon’s Groove”, where he flexes his musicality on.

Other collaborators include El Debarge, Bishop Lamont, Mack 10, Tay F 3rd and Tweed Cadillac.

“Musically, this album is a bulls-eye for me,” Quik says. “Can’t nobody tell me different because I’ve seen it give people chills. I’ve seen it make people happy, smile, drink, party, dance, ask for it on repeat. This album is for people who like to have fun.”

The Midnight Life is due out Oct. 14. Those who pre-order the album through iTunes will instantly get the first released track from the album, “That Getter” featuring Quik’s son David Blake.

Below is the final tracklist:

1. “Intro”
2. “That N****r’s Crazy”
3. “Back That Sh*t Up” feat. Tay F 3rd & David Blake II
4. “Trapped On The Tracks” feat. Bishop Lamont & David Blake II
5. “El’s Interlude 2”
6. “Puffin The Dragon”
7. “Pet Sematary”
8. “Life Jacket” feat. Suga Free & Dom Kennedy
9. “That Getter” feat. David Blake
10. “The Conduct” feat. Mack 10
11. “Shine” feat. David Blake
12. “Bacon’s Groove” feat. Rob “Fonksta” Bacon
13. “Broken Down” feat. Suga Free & Tweed Cadillac
14. “Why’d You Have To Lie” feat. Joi
15. “F*ck All Night”
16. “Quik’s Groove 9”