Tony Dungy

The list of nominees for the Pro Football Hall of Fame were announced Thursday night (Jan. 9). Among the 15 names are first-year nominees Derrick Brooks, Tony Dungy, Marvin Harrison, and Walter Jones, reports ESPN.

Brooks was a linebacker with Tampa Bay; Dungy coached Tampa Bay and Indianapolis, leading the Colts to a Super Bowl title in 2007; Harrison was a receiver for Indianapolis; and Jones was an offensive tackle with Seattle.

Others finalists include former New York Giants defensive end Michael Strahan, defensive end/linebacker Charles Haley, defensive end/linebacker Kevin Greene, receiver Andre Reed, running back Jerome Bettis, receiver/returner Tim Brown, safety John Lynch, guard Will Shields, cornerback/safety Aeneas Williams, kicker Morten Andersen and former San Francisco owner Edward DeBartolo Jr.

The 15 finalists were chosen by the selection committee from a list of 126 nominees that was reduced to 25 semifinalists, before each received a minimum vote of 80 percent to reach the final round of voting. The nominees are to be voted upon on Feb. 1st in New York by a 46-member selection committee, and to be inducted, each need 80 percent of the vote.

While there’s many familiar names who made the last round, a number of well-known players from the past were dropped — including Steve Atwater, former NFL Commissioner Paul Tagliabue, and Terrell Davis, among others.

Cris Carter, Jonathan Ogden, Larry Allen, Bill Parcells, Warren Sapp, Dave Robinson and Curley Culp were inducted last year, the 50th anniversary celebration of the hall.