Gary Payton, Bulls Owner Jerry Reinsdorf Among 2013 Basketball Hall Of Fame Nominees

Gary Payton

Legendary guard Gary Payton and Chicago Bulls owner Jerry Reinsdorf are among the nominees chosen for the class of 2013 basketball Hall of Fame.

According to, 31 candidates are moving forward via selection from the North American committee, the section that handles the majority of the nominees from the NBA. From there, a nine-member panel will vote on each, with seven votes needed to advance to the finalist stage, an outcome that will be announced at All-Star weekend in Houston in February. Then, a separate group of 24 voters makes the ultimate ruling, with 18 required for induction. Those results revealed at the Final Four in Atlanta in April.

Payton was nicknamed “The Glove” during his run in the NBA for his tight defense, and averaged at least 20 points a game seven times and also logged at least eight assists a game in five of those seven. He finally won an NBA Championship in his sixteenth season in the league, when the Miami Heat won in 2006, led by Shaquille O’Neal and Dwyane Wade.

The entire list of nominees from the North American committee (which includes pro, college and high school ranks): John Bach, Dick Bavetta, Gene Bess, Maurice Cheeks, Jack Curran, Bobby Dandridge, Lefty Driesell, Bill Fitch, Cotton Fitzsimmons, Travis Grant, Tim Hardaway, Spencer Haywood, Robert Hughes, Kevin Johnson, Marques Johnson (first time on the ballot), Gene Keady, Bernard King, Guy Lewis (first time), Danny Miles, William (Speedy) Morris (first time), Dick Motta, Curly Neal, Payton, Rick Pitino, Mitch Richmond, Paul Silas, Eddie Sutton, Jerry Tarkanian, Rudy Tomjanovich, Paul Westphal and Gary Williams.

Mark Jackson was removed from the ballot after not receiving a single vote in three years, despite being third on the career assist list.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.