The Hood Internet

The Hood Internet

Chicago DJ duo The Hood Internet, comprised of STV SLV and ABX, announced this week details about their debut album, titled FEAT (pronounced F-E-A-T), set to drop on Decon in mid-September.

The upcoming project will be all original material, unlike the mixtapes the duo have become infamous for, which blends a wide array of artists including the late Whitney Houston, Justice, Fleetwood Mac, Jay-Z and more.

The Hood Internet’s foray into production work has found them collaborating on new songs with buzzing artists from around the nation, ranging from Chicago artist Show You Suck to Black Moth Super Rainbow’s Tobacco.

The upcoming FEAT marks their first completely original, sample-free album with vocal and instrumental collaborations highlighting artists including erudite rapping by Psalm One on “More Fun”, synth-pop trio Class Actress alongside Canadian rapper Cadence Weapon on the chimerical “Critical Captions,” and the infectious track “Won’t F*** Us Over” featuring the raw energy of Chicago group BBU.

Since the inaugural release of their first, critically acclaimed mixtape in 2007, their rise to glory has steadily landed them performances at festivals like Lollapalooza, Bonnaroo, SXSW, CMJ, Pitchfork’s #Offline, Mad Decent Block Party, and The Roots Picnic.

When they aren’t busy playing huge festivals or touring the country, The Hood Internet are releasing upwards of 500 mixes on their website, leading to millions of free downloads since their start in 2007.

In the coming months, they will be going on a west coast run with Psalm One and Tanya Morgan in July and August. A national tour will follow in September and October, coinciding with the album’s release of September 18th.

Below is the final tracklist for FEAT, as well as confirmed tour dates:

1. “Critical Captions” (ft Class Actress, Cadence Weapon)
2. “One For The Record Books” (ft AC Newman, Sims)
3. “More Fun” (ft Psalm One, TOBAXXO)
4. “Nothing Should Be A Surprise” (ft Isaiah Toothtaker, Show You Suck)
5. “Exonerated” (ft Zambri, Hooray For Earth, Junior Pande)
6. “Won’t F*** Us Over” (ft BBU, Annie Hart)
7. “Do You Give Up Now?” (ft Donwill, My Gold Mask, Junior Pande)
8. “Our Finest China” (ft The Rosebuds, Astronautalis)
9. “Uzi Water Gun” (ft Millionyoung, Kenan Bell, The Chain Gang Of 1974)
10. “These Things Are Nice” (ft Kid Static, Slow Witch, Kleenex Girl Wonder)

6/22 – Beauty Ballroom, Austin TX
7/25 – Wild Buffalo, Bellingham WA*
7/26 – Chop Suey, Seattle WA*
7/27 – Mississippi Studios, Portland OR*
7/31 – Catalyst Atrium, Santa Cruz CA*
8/1 – The Independent, San Francisco CA*
8/2 – Detroit Bar, Costa Mesa CA*
8/3 – The Central, Santa Monica CA*
8/4 – Casbah, San Diego CA*
8/9 – U Street Music Hall, Washington DC
8/11 – Brooklyn Bowl, Brooklyn NY

* with Psalm One and Tanya Morgan