The Cool Kids To Drop Debut In July, Unveil Album Guests

The Cool KidsMonths after leaving Chocolate Industries (in October 2010) and signing with Mountain Dew’s record label Green Label Sound earlier this year, midwest duo The Cool Kids are finally set to unleash their debut album this July.

This week, the Kids — consisting of Mikey Rocks and Chuck Inglish — unveiled details for the long awaited debut, When Fish Ride Bicycles, which features 11 brand new songs, and finds the pair working with the likes of Bun B, Ghostface Killah, Mayer Hawthorne, Asher Roth, Travis Barker, and Pharrell Williams, among others.

Recording began with Pharrell Williams at Miami’s South Beach Studios in December 2010, two months after announcing their split from Chocolate Industries. It continued over several return sessions, culminating in Williams’ production of album closer, “Summer Jam (featuring Maxine Ashley)”.

Additional recording in New York and Chicago, with The Cool Kids’ self-production on the rest of the album, helped When Fish Ride Bicycles become their most diverse work to date.

Inglish describes their chance to work with the guests on their album fondly. On being in the Miami studio with Pharrell Williams, “it was a dream of mine since I was 17.”

Along with Mikey, he recalled a moment when Raekwon stopped by their Chicago studio and likened the track “Penny Hardaway” to music recorded at RZA’s house in the early 90’s. Citing Raekwon and Ghostface as their original inspiration to start rapping, that offhand remark had a lasting effect… “Saying that to us was like the most unreal compliment, to have one of the inspirations for the song tell you that it reminded him of the sh** they used to make.”

When Fish Ride Bicycles drops July 12, via Green Label Sound. For more info, visit

The album’s final tracklist is as follows:

1. Rush Hour Traffic
2. GMC
3. Boomin’ (featuring Tennille)
4. Sour Apples (featuring Travis Barker)
5. Penny Hardaway (featuring Ghostface Killah)
6. Bundle Up
7. Gas Station (featuring Bun B)
8. Get Right
9. Swimsuits (featuring Mayer Hawthorne)
10. Roll Call (featuring Asher Roth, Chip Tha Ripper, Boldy James)
11. Summer Jam (featuring Maxine Ashley)

1 comment
  1. without these cartiers I cant see that well..
    Chuck English is a problem!!!!!
    but niggaz really can go shoppin in my closet too tho..

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *