Gorillaz Enlist Mos Def, De La Soul, Snoop For First New Album In 5 Years

GorillazIt’s been five years since their last album, but the Gorillaz are finally gearing up for the release of their third album, Plastic Beach, in March.

The band/group was announced as a headliner at this year’s Coachella Music Festival, and now, they announce the release of a new album, featuring a variety of musical guests such as Snoop Dogg, Mos Def, De La Soul, and several others.

The album is preceded by first single, “Stylo” (featuring Mos Def and Bobby Womack), which will receive its radio broadcast premiere on Wednesday (January 20) and will be available for download on January 26.

Confirming “Stylo,” group member Murdoc Niccals tweeted: “A leak! A leak! Plastic Beach has sprung a leak! One of those Russian pirates has put a bullet hole in my island! My single’s leaked! STYLO!”

Five years on from the release of Demon Days, Murdoc Niccals and co. return with Plastic Beach.

According to the official press release: “The band have taken up residence, recording on a secret floating island deep in the South Pacific, a Plastic Beach HQ, made up of the detritus, debris and washed up remnants of humanity. This Plastic Beach is the furthest point from any landmass on Earth; the most deserted spot on the planet.”

The Gorillaz are the world’s biggest animated band. They formed in 1998, and have since sold 12 million copies over two albums, the self-titled Gorillaz in 2000, and Demon Days in 2005. They have hit #1 in more than a dozen countries and picked up awards including Grammys, Novellos, VMAs and EMAs.

They will return to the stage with a headline appearance at the Coachella festival in April, alongside co-headliners, Jay-Z and Muse. It will be the first Gorillaz live spectacle on U.S. soil since the awe-inspiring “Demon Days Live” run in April 2006 at New York’s Apollo Theater.

Plastic Beach hits stores on March 9, via Virgin Records.

Below is the full tracklist and features:

“Orchestral Intro”
“Welcome To The World Of The Plastic Beach” ft. Snoop Dogg & Hypnotic Brass Ensemble
“White Flag” ft. Kano & Bashy
“Rhinestone Eyes”
“Stylo” ft. Bobby Womack & Mos Def
“Superfast Jellyfish” ft. Gruff Rhys & De La Soul
“Empire Ants” ft. Little Dragon
“Glitter Freeze” ft. Mark E Smith
“Some Kind Of Nature” ft. Lou Reed
“On Melancholy Hill”
“Sweepstakes” ft. Mos Def & Hypnotic Brass Ensemble
“Plastic Beach” ft. Mick Jones & Paul Simonon
“To Binge” ft. Little Dragon
“Cloud Of Unknowing” ft. Bobby Womack
“Pirate Jet”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.